Twelve IEC Memorial Scholarships Available

Twelve IEC Memorial Scholarships Available

Josh Shallenberger, President/CEO of Shelby Electric Cooperative, has announced that the Illinois electric cooperatives will award twelve academic scholarships in 2019 to high school seniors through a memorial scholarship fund designed to financially assist deserving students in the electric cooperative family. The twelve scholarships of $2,000 each will be awarded in 2019 through the Thomas H. Moore Illinois Electric Cooperatives (IEC) Memorial Scholarship Program.

Six scholarships will be awarded to high school seniors who are the sons or daughters of an Illinois electric cooperative member receiving service from their cooperative. Four scholarships are reserved for students enrolling full-time at a two-year Illinois community college and are the sons or daughters of Illinois electric cooperative members, employees, or directors.

The Earl W. Struck Memorial Scholarship will be awarded to a student who is the son or daughter of an Illinois electric cooperative employee. 

The LaVern and Nola McEntire Lineworker’s Scholarship will help pay for costs to attend the lineworker’s school conducted by the Association of Illinois Electric Cooperatives in conjunction with Lincoln Land Community College, Springfield, Illinois. Sons and daughters of co-op members, relatives of co-op employees or directors, individuals

enrolled in the Lincoln Land Lineworker’s School, and individuals who have served or are serving in the armed forces or National Guard are all eligible for the lineworker’s scholarship.

“We hope to assist electric cooperative youth while honoring past rural electric leaders with these scholarships,” said Member Services Manager Heidi Hall. “Shelby Electric Cooperative and the other

Illinois electric cooperatives are always seeking ways to make a difference in our communities. One of the best ways we can do that is by helping our youth through programs like this.”

“Shelby Electric Cooperative has been fortunate to have two scholarship winners. In 2012, Derrick Knearem received the LaVern and Nola McEntire Lineworker’s Scholarship and in 2011, Matthew Durbin was a recipient of the IEC Memorial Scholarship,” said Shallenberger.

All necessary paperwork has been sent to area high school guidance counselors and is available at the cooperative’s website,, under the “Community” menu tab. Deadline to apply is December 31, 2018.

For more information regarding scholarships, contact Heidi Hall at 800-677-2612 or email

For additional rules, guidelines, and details visit the AIEC’s website by clicking here.

Page Features: